Chloe: Older and writing

Dad found my journal! I think I was busy imagining someone at school reading this thing and planning some grand reveal but apparently my overactive imagination is just that. Thank

Can’t believe it’s the first day of the sixth month of the year! I think I was busy imagining someone at school reading this thing and planning some grand reveal but apparently my overactive imagination is just that. Thank you, God. Thank you! It was in with his books and papers which he then left in his car and never ever looked at again until he was stuck at the hospital with me.

Hospital?  On the night of my 16th birthday party last month my appendix exploded. I knew something wasn’t right for a day or two before my birthday but I was so busy that I just figured it was a little too busy lifestyle niggle. It wasn’t. So I collapsed into the arms of – (would you believe this?) – in the arms of the very beautiful and very cool Gabriel Rockerfellar! He has been around every day since my birthday. He was at the hospital with my family until they knew I was going to pull through. Dad cried. Dad literally cried. He apparently watched me crashing in slow motion just as I was about to have my first kiss. Great timing! I was feeling faint and I remember it was hot. Really hot. Then the searing pain shot through my body when I totally blacked out. I think I really scared my parents.

Mom had panda eyes when I finally woke up after surgery and then dad sent her home to be with Jack and get sleep while he kept vigil with me. It was a touch and go situation apparently. I was totally oblivious to all this. I only remember the pain. It was horrible. I also remembered that I got carried out of my birthday party unconscious. That was pretty embarrassing the next day but mom and dad said that was not the thing for me to think about. I could have died. A tad dramatic.

So I guess here I am now. Back at school and happily writing away in my journal safe and found. No one has read this little book of woe. Sad thing is that had I died and my parents found this thing and read it my last words would basically be that I hate my mother and I don’t she was really sweet and I totally understand that she is just trying to teach me how to be a responsible woman so I have to give my mom brownie points for her patience and forgiveness. She doesn’t take my insanity personally. I really don’t thank her enough.

And what about Gabriel? We see one another on the weekends now. He tried coming about every night but dad had a quiet word with him about boundaries and then some. I have to wonder about this parenting rule book sometimes.

Glad to be back!

x

 

Leave a Reply

