Noah Slater – Mid year

Author: Ryan Minords

 

So I am in high school now, almost my senior year. The funny guy with a cool comment here and there but I’ve never spoken up because my intelligence seems stupid to them. As for my appearance… well maybe my hair is cool but add buck teeth and I’m a social outcast. Now, in general,  I don’t wear BRANDS.  I do a hand me down blazer, stitched up backpack, and I’m not the most athletic dude on the block.  But I could treat her well enough. I’d be the guy who showed up when she needs me. She’s the star pupil in class. How she could fail a year is just a mystery to me. I bet it had something to do with Rockerfellar.

I’d be the guy to bring her soup when she’s sick and actually listens to her when she speaks. I’d open a door for her get her flowers. Go for walks in the park etc. instead, she goes for the wealthiest guy in school… treats her good in public but is a total jerk in private. Is it my fault that she ends up with him or whenever she’s around my tongue gets stuck to the roof of my mouth at even the simplest of questions from her? She’s perfect! Well dressed in uniform. Pays attention to detail next to the who framed Roger rabbit character. What a contrast of personalities. Is it my fault that she ends up with him or am I to intervene? Is it primal or survival of the fittest or is idiocy classed as fitness these days? Is swagger more important than a good formed word or a composed gentlemanly character?

We are teamed up for a project of some sort in chemistry Ahhhh chemistry!!!!

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤  (Animated hearts pumping from my chest cavity.)  ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

This is my chance. I can’t mess this up! She asked me to meet her later tomorrow in the library to do some research. I am starting to feel a little bit more comfortable around her as she makes me feel at ease. Another good thing about her. And I can tell that she was raised well, not to judge, but she laughs at my not so fluent jokes and she got the jist of what I was trying so… wow, I just realised I can be myself around her.  She’s broken down a barrier.  She didn’t say it in so many words but I can tell that she’s punctual. One, if not her only quirks is that trust broken, doesn’t sit well with her….well, with anyone for that matter but for me this is the promise I could not break.  Everything was set up so what could possibly go wrong?  I mean all I had to do was show up for our appointment. Then horror of horrors, hormones threw me a huge curveball with not one but two pounding zits on my lip and forehead right square centre.

I cannot be seen at school like this, what new cruel name will be added to my already illustrious list of atrocities? Over the years the name calling, teasing and downright bullying have chipped away at my character.  I guess honestly, I’m just a kind hearted soul that just wanted to be accepted.  What a great person I could have been to your world now.  If I wasn’t chipped at all through my early adolescence,  throughout the private schooling system – like my earliest memory being at primary school during our 1st week and miss Honey telling me if I don’t stop crying she will put poison on her tit and stick in my mouth, I mean who does that? Imagine the graphic image burnt into me – a child’s memory at that early age. Ripped away from your mother’s bosom off to fend for yourself in the big world.

 

I digress; I cannot let  Chloe Vollenhoven see me like this.

 

So she ends up with a not so Jonny average that was actually not so average albeit not his own doing or is it? I am Noah Slater after all. In your world on a bursary. Smarter than all of them and yet at their mercy.

If you see an opportunity make a calculated inform decision and go for it.

If you have something special to offer put it out there don’t be a carbon copy.

In a world full of Kardashians be a Diana.

Leave a Reply

